A lil bit about me

Just another food obsessed English girl pursuing her traveling dreams. I am absolutely in love with healthy food, as many of my friends know (and constantly tell me I talk about it too much). This blog is pretty much going to be updates on the last part of my travels (off to South East Asia next week) pretty much surrounding food, so I don’t have to burden people by talking about it too much…

Since becoming vegetarian almost 3 years ago I have become a bit of a ranter about animal ethics/the environment/health and all the other benefits from not eating meat. I’ve been living in Australia for the past 8 months where, on the whole, it’s been really easy to not eat meat- the range of vegetarian products in the supermarkets is sooo much better then back at home and not to mention the amazing variety of fresh fruit and vegetables. It’s been hard when travelling across the country as no roadhouses do anything other than meat, meat and more meat. The only non-meat thing you can buy is chips but they’re still covered in chicken salt and disgustingly greasy, but I’ve learnt to bring a trusty tin of chickpeas or carrots and hummus when doing a long journey and I’ll be fine.

After on and off attempts at being vegan I have decided that now I am really going to stick to it, so far it’s been 4 days and hopefully I can carry it on. It’s hard when traveling to be vegan because we are constantly moving around and living on a small budget makes it difficult. I think when I’m home it will be much easier but I’ve still got another 3 months till I’m back.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Daaaaad says:

    We’ll slaughter Bessie the cow for a celebratory barbecue when you come home…

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      You’re too kind, makes me want to come home even more!!

      Like

      1. thejuicenut says:

        Dads, you gotta love ’em! 😄

        Like

  2. Calvin Hague says:

    Where in Asia are you going?

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      Starting in Indonesia then Malaysia, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos and Thailand

      Like

      1. Calvin Hague says:

        So many countries 🙂

        Like

  3. Bethany says:

    Good luck on your vegan journey, Thalia! Great pics so far!

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      Thank you, your banana bread recipe looks delish

      Like

  4. You must visit India when you get a chance!It’s a vegan paradise ^_^Safe travels my friend! ❤

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      I’ll add it onto my list, id love to go there!

      Like

  5. I’m a newbie vegan too! have an amazing time on your travels 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

