David’s Homemade Noodles

image

We are now in Phnom Penh the capital city of Cambodia. I’m not sure what I was expecting when I got here but it wasn’t this… it’s a complete culture shock but it’s amazing. There’s street food lining all the roads, people trying to make you go on their tuk tuks as much as you say no, scooters driving past every 5 seconds, toddlers wandering around alone barefoot, stray animals roaming around… but everyone seems really friendly and more than happy to help us.

Today we went to the National Museum and while we were waiting for the Royal Palace to open we went for lunch at a little restaurant called David’s Noodles, where they make the noodles for you to watch.They had already made the dough so I don’t know what was in it and the guy making them was deaf so didn’t know what I was asking.. but anyway…

They started off kneading the dough for about 10 minutes, adding the odd bit of oil or water I wasn’t sure.

image

image

Then he picked it up and rolled it into a long sausage and threw it (I don’t know the technical terms) back onto the table and kneaded it more, repeating this for another 5 or so minutes

image

Then he picked it up and stretched the sausagey dough and somehow twisted it in the air then kneaded it more and repeated again and again.

image

image

All off a sudden he picked it up once more and it had turned into noodles, I think all I did was blink and it was like that! I don’t know how they didn’t break it was all so sudden and smooth

 

image

He popped them into the broth to boil and made them into the noodle soup that Emma had ordered.

image

Hopefully I’m going to do a cookery course where I’ll learnt to make them, although I’m sure it’s much harder then they made it look

One Comment Add yours

  1. thejuicenut says:

    It’s all done by magic and sleight of hand lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

