Pai Cookery school 

on

I have had one of the most wonderful days. It started off with early morning yoga in the sun, overlooking the beautiful mountains of Pai. After that I walked into town, grabbed a few bananas on the way, and headed to The Good Life restaurant (where I had a marvellous vegan curry the night before) and went to a guided meditation class. I then took myself for a walk around the town and ended up spontaneously booking a cookery class for that afternoon. There was 5 of us and we each chose from 3 different menus what we wanted to cook. I chose the red option. I made Pad Thai,  red curry paste, Thai red curry, coconut soup with tofu, story fried vegetables, mango and sticky rice & also made mango salad as a bonus. We each had our own stoves and cooking areas we started by watching Gaew make the dish then we had to replicate it. I started off learning how to make the Pad Thai, which was much simpler then I realised and so few ingredients actually go into it. Once we had made our first meals we sat down and ate them. 

pad thai with extra chilli of course

We prepared the vegetables and other ingriedients we would need for the other meals later. Then we started making the curry pastes, which smelt absolutely amazing and I managed not to get chilli in my eye which makes a change!! While I was making the red curry paste the others started making a papaya salad then when they had finished Gaew taught us how to make a mango salad (because the papaya salad had shrimp in and she wanted me to try it so she made the mango one without shrimp). 


We then took a trip down to the market which was probably one of my favourite parts of the course. We learnt all about the different ingriedients used in Thai cooking and how to pick the freshest fruit and veg and know when they’re ripe. We also tried some new things I had never tried before like Rambutan which was delicious and this incredible banana and sticky rice. After buying some things we needed to cook with this afternoon we headed back to the school.


Once back we went straight into cooking the curry with the curry pastes we had made. Again I didn’t realised how simple it was and once it was finished we put it aside and went straight into cooking the next dish which was stir fried vegetables and that was over really quickly and we then began the coconut soup. I was surprised to find out that the majority of the actual soup was water and the coconut milk was only a small part of it! Once they were made we sat at the table and ate them (although I couldn’t finish them all so got them to takeaway and I’m going to eat the soup once I write this). Then we watched Gaew make the mango and sticky rice which was one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten; new favourite meal I think. I then returned back to the hostel with a recipe book and a full tummy feeling super content about the wonderful day I had had.

stir fry vegetables, thai red curry & coconut soup
5 Comments Add yours

  1. thejuicenut says:

    What a fabulous day! Love mango, my favourite fruit, but so difficult to get ripe here.

    Like

  2. Such an awesome experience! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. I definitely feel this food! The Vegan life!

    Like

  4. mercieraurelie says:

    Lovely blog! Thanks for sharing 🙂 x

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      Thank you ❤ glad you enjoyed it 🌟⭐️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

