Being ill = craving Indian fooooood

on

I haven’t posted recently because I’ve been so busy and haven’t had the time, although I’m not really sure what I’ve actually been doing. I’ve been with my friends almost everyday and last weekend I went to a music festival called Boardmasters which was AMAZING (I’ll write a post on that later). Now I’ve returned from the festival and I am sooo ill with flu like symptoms which is no fun, a few of my friends are also feeling similar so maybe we  caught something. Anywaaaay, I spent my day moping around and watching a movie with Miriam… It’s always nicer doing nothing with someone else then on your own and I feel less guilty! All I could think about all day was Indian food and have no idea why. I had told my sister I would take her out for dinner to celebrate her AS levels results but was worried that the Indian restaurants near me wouldn’t serve vegan food so we had decided to buy it at the supermarket instead. After a mix up over the phone with my mum I returned home with bags of ready made Indian microwave meals, onion Bahjis, veg samosas and naan breads to find that my mum had spent the evening cooking from scratch an incredible vegan Indian feast. I chucked the microwave meals I had got into the fridge and helped finish off the cooking.

We had Bombay potatoes, saag, tarka daal, ‘spicey delicious chickpeas’ from Madhur Jaffreys ‘Very Delicious Spicey Chickpea’ recipe and parratha’s (all homemade) along with the onion Bahjis, veg samosas, naan breads and mango chutney I had bought. It was absolutely incredible and even though I still feel awful it improved my mood considerably.


Homemade Parratha’s 

Ingredients

2 cups flour (plus 1/2 cup extra for dusting)

4 tbsp of vegetable oil 

1/2 tsp salt,

2/3 cups water

Instructions

1). In a large bowl, combine the flour and salt. Mix well using either your fingers or a whisk. Create a small well in the middle of the flour and add 2 tbsp of oil. Mix in the oil with your fingers until you get a sandy texture.

2). Add the water, a little at a time, and knead into a dough. You may need a few extra tablespoons of water if the dough feels tough. It should be soft and slightly sticky. Knead the dough for 60 seconds.

3). Add 1/2 tsp of oil and roll the ball of dough in the oil. Cover with a kitchen towel and let the dough rest for 15 minutes.

4). Once the dough has rested, knead the dough for a few seconds. Then divide the dough into two equal parts. Form each part into a 4 inch log. Break off one inch pieces from the logs, creating eight equal pieces of dough.

5). Roll each piece of dough between your palms forming a ball and then press the ball between your palms to flatten, creating a disc shape.

6). Heat a 12 inch cast iron skillet over medium low heat. Transfer the rolled out paratha to the pan. Let cook until you see bubbles forming. Flip the paratha over using a spatula. Drizzle 1/2 tsp of oil onto the side that was just cooked and spread the oil around with your spatula. Let cook for about 45 seconds to 1 minute. You will see more bubbles forming and you can check to make sure the paratha is ready to flip by lifting a side of the paratha and peeking under. If you see a few reddish brown spots beginning to form, it’s ready.

7). Turn the heat up to high and flip the paratha one more time. This time, press onto the paratha with your spatula for about 30 to 40 seconds. This will help it puff up.Flip the paratha back over and press the other side with your spatula for a few seconds.Turn the heat back down to medium low.

8). Stack the paratha on a plate and keep covered with a tea towel until ready to serve.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. thejuicenut says:

    I was thinking about you last night and wondering if you were just having fun or unwell, I hope you recover soon. Your mum made a fantastic meal, she must have been preparing and cooking for hours. I hope your sister did ok. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thalia says:

      Thank you so much, I’m sure it’ll pass soon (I hope). My mummies wonderful- she puts so much effort into cooking vegan meals for me and they’re all delicious! My sister also did very well!! I hope you’re all well X

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thejuicenut says:

        It must be difficult for you and your body to adjust being home, the weather, the food, being in one place, so it’s not surprising that you’ve come down with something. I love reading your posts, so I noticed your absence. Take care of yourself – and more beach photos soon as you’re up to it! (Sun optional) 😊

        Like

  2. Looks delicious! Hope you feel better soon 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

