Banananana luvin

I absolutely LOVE bananas.

I have at least one every day for breakfast, if I don’t have one I feel like my day won’t go well… Completely an irrational thought process but hey ho.

I used to love going to tesco at 7.30 every Monday after the gym and heading straight to the fruit and veg section and buying ridiculous amounts of reduced bananas. I think the most I bought was 47 bananas for around 60p. Madness. Anyway, since I’ve been home I am always busy in the evenings and never seem to get to the shop at the right time… However yesterday I just happened to be at tesco at 8pm (after a wonderful meal at Las Iguanas with my Mumma) and ended up buying 27 bananas for 26p. This meant my rainy Sunday was spent chopping bananas to freeze and make into nice cream and baking a massive banana bread loaf. I made up the recipe vaguely based on a variety of different recipes I’d read online, but tweaked it to veganise it and make it healthy- of course.

img_6794-1

So here’s my recipe for a delish, healthy, moist, vegan, gluten free banana bread mmmmm

Ingredients

6 ‘nanas

80ml sunflower oil

Couple of handfuls of chopped nuts/dried fruit (optional)

225g buckwheat flour

3 heaped tsp baking powder

2 tsp ground nutmeg

3 tsp cinnamon
Method

1). Preheat oven to 180 degrees.In a large bowl mix the mashed bananas with the sunflower oil. Add in the optional extras here if youre using them (I used nuts, dates and sweetened dried cranberries all roughly chopped)

2). Add the flour, baking powder, nutmeg and cinnamon and combine well. Pour into a greased loaf tin.

3). Put the loaf in the oven and bake for around 20 minutes, then cover with foil and leave to bake for a further 45 minutes. Mine cooked quicker on the outside then in the centre so I turned the heat down to 120 and gave it an extra 10 minutes

4). Remove the banana bread when the top is golden brown and bounces back lightly when you touch it.

I know I put the banana slices the wrong way up, basically, I had a bit of a nightmare with a banana that was too squishey and then had to quickly put that one on top and then couldn’t scoop it out once I realised I had done it the wrong side… But I’ll just say it’s more rustic??

My nan and I enjoyed a slice and a cuppa this afternoon and the cake EVEN received approval from my mum (she actually said it was nice!!!) who rarely likes what I bake hooraaaaayyy!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. thejuicenut says:

    Gets the thumbs up from me too! 👍🏻👏🏻😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Banana bread haha, have to try this 🙂

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      Definitely try it, it’s super easy and tastes so good!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yum, will have to give this a go 😊😋

    Like

  4. Lovely post! I love banana bread and I was surprised to find how easy it is to veganise – great news for us! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

