Caffeine induced anxiety

​I do enjoy a good coffee, I just don’t have them very often. Usually in a day I would have 3 cups of tea- sometimes green tea but usually ginger or chamomile which are both naturally caffeine free. Today after my morning stats exam we went on a little cafe tour to revise for Monday’s exam. Over the space of 5 hrs I’d had two green teas and a latte (almond milk of course). Then in the last cafe I started getting panicy and nervous and shaking and had to ring my dad because I was so scared. I’d previously had a few panic attacks a few months ago from stress and anxiety about university and I thought I felt another one coming. Luckily my wonderful father calmed me down and made me realise it was just obviously all the caffeine I’d had today. I’m not really used to caffeine so essentially I consumed too much caffeine today and then confused the feelings from caffeine with anxiety.

 I even learnt about this as part of my course- people become hypersensitive to the anxiety symptoms and confuse similar feelings like the rush from caffeine to be the start of a panic attack.  How can I stop associating these feelings with anxiety? Will I ever be able to enjoy coffees again without feeling like that? I know it’s all in my head but it’s hard to think about that at the time!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. thejuicenut says:

    I’m sorry you had this experience, how scary for you. I used to love strong black coffee but one day after my usual breakfast cup, my heart began racing and then it would skip beats, this went on for some time and I decided to give it up. Just like that. I haven’t drunk coffee since. I don’t miss it, I miss the smell more than anything. I’m sure things will settle down for you when you adjust back to your normal levels of caffeine.

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      I don’t drink coffee that often so it’s not hard to give up, just sad because I did enjoy it! But there’s always decaf so it’s not a problem πŸ™‚ and thanks so much for the link, it looks really helpful, I’ll give it a look over later x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thejuicenut says:

    Ps I came across this post called ‘Interrupt Anxiety With Gratitude’, it sounds just what you need 😊 http://www.sarahwilson.com/2017/01/interrupt-anxiety-with-gratitude/ It’s all about techniques to get the brain to focus on the positive rather than the anxiety-inducing negatives.

    Like

  3. thevegancookie says:

    I hope you’re feeling better from this experience and that today will be better πŸ’– sometimes my body is sensitive to caffeine and other times not, but I always try and eat something and have some water when I go for coffee, just to be safe. It’s a horrible feeling, to panic and have an anxiety attack, but try grounding yourself by making yourself aware of at least 1 thing you’re currently experiencing with each sense – what can you see, what can you smell? etc. I find it helps me when my mind races and heart pounds. Have a good day! xx

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      Thank you so much for the advice πŸ’• I’ll definitely try and remember if it happens again (touch wood it won’t!). I hope you have a lovely day xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

