Cauliflower luvin

I have finally finished my exams woooo! While I was meant to be revising for them at the start of the week I ended up procrastinating sooo much by cooking and ended up making roasted red pepper hummus, red cabbage slaw and some incredible different things out of cauliflower. All of them were pretty simple to make and were the perfect distraction for revision but my favourite had to be the cauliflower… As I was cutting it up to roast I realised that I was about to chuck all the leaves away and what a waste?! So I decided to see what they would be like roasted as well and ohhhh my it was delicious.


Roasted Cauliflower with leaves- the perfect revision snack.

Ingredients

Whole cauliflower

Thyme

Garlic’s cloves (extra garlic powder option- I   love  garlic so added looooove)

Method

1). Break cauliflower into florets and cut leaves off, breaking off the stalky bit at the end. Wash thoroughly and let dry

2). Generously cover the florets and leaves with oil, thyme and garlic. 

3). Put onto a baking tray and put into oven at 180 for around 40 minutes.

4). Once slightly browned remove from oven and serve whilst hot!

Later that week I saw a video on Facebook of a Jamaicany spiced roasted cauliflower steaks, so that day went to the shop and bought another cauliflower and tried it that evening. It. Was. Amazing. I used my flat mates jerk seasoning, added in cumin, paprika, cayenne and garlic powder. Mixed that in with ketchup and water and covered the ‘steaks’ in it and roasted them for 45 minutes. Why did people ever boil cauliflower instead of roasting it?! 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. thejuicenut says:

    Cauliflower is my favourite vegetable! I remember the days when you could walk in any norhtern kitchen and smell cauliflower and cabbage boiling away as soon as the roast potatoes went in the oven! They weren’t considered done until they broke up into mush 😄

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      Yuck! That’s my memory of cauliflower too- smelly and floppy. Why were they ever boiled when they’re so delicious roasted!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. thejuicenut says:

        Only meat and potatoes got roasted, women learned from their mothers or were taught at school and everyhing was boiled.

        Like

  2. danilosophy says:

    Sounds great! I’m going to try it 😀

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      Hope you enjoy! Let me know how it goes x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great Idea! I love roasting cauliflower alone or with other veggies. Will definitely have to try it with leaves.

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on Realistic Sustainability, Ltd. and commented:
    I love cauliflower too!

    Like

  5. My Real Dish says:

    I”m currently obsessed with cauliflower! I’ll try it! Thanks!

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      So am i! It’s my favourite vegetable at the moment, let me know how it goes 😊😊 I’ve just tried roasting a whole cauliflower and think I’ll post about it soon as well xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

