Mousaaaakaaa

Helllooooo I’m back! Slightly ironic that one of my last posts was about how I’m going to post more but I’m astudent and can’t keep up with it all! I’ve been super busy recently and just haven’t had much spare time alone. My two closest friends at uni and I cook dinner together almost everyday. It’s so nice because we alllove the same food and it means there’s more variety to what we can cook and obviously it’s nice not to eat alone! Because we cook together I never really have time (or think of) taking pictures of anything, but we do make some seriously yummy things! We had a creamy potato and kale bake the other day which has probably been my favourite thing we’ve made so far but we’ve also made a random selection of other things like ramen, veggie burgers, roasts, curries (made a delish katsu curry the other day mmm) and on and on. Tonight I actually made dinner on my own for once and made everything from scratc. It was a great way to procrastinate from the work I should be doing… so here’s the recipe for my 

vegan moussaka/lasagne/layered veg bake thing

Ingredients 

1 aubergine, stem removed and sliced lengthways
1 courgette, sliced lengthways

About 2 cups of mushrooms, sliced

Half a leek, chopped up small

Cup of soya mince protein soaked in water

Pasta Sauce (I made my own with garlic, onion, thyme and a can of tomatoes)

Creamy Béchamel Sauce (again, made my own. Fried two table spoons of flour in 3 table spoons of oil, added two cups of almond milk and stirred till thickened)

Method

1). Pre heat oven to 175°C / 350F°.

2). In a non stick pan, add a small amount of oil and lay aubergine slices down. Cook until lightly browned on each side and softened. Repeat this for all eggplant slices.

3). In the same pan, add oil, mushrooms and leek slices. Cook for about 5 minutes, until mushrooms are done. 

4). In a large baking tray  start to layer up the veg starting with the tomato sauce on the bottom of the tray. Doesn’t really matter what order you go but I added a layer of eggplant slices, spread a layer of béchamel sauce on the eggplant slices, added a layer of courgette slices, spreaded the mushroom and leek mixture over, spread the soya mince protein o, spread a layer of tomato pasta sauce over the mushrooms, add a layer of eggplant and courgette and last bit of tomat, added a layer of béchamel sauce and then topped with nutritional yeast

5). Pop into the oven covered in foil for 40 mins, removing the foil halfway


5 Comments Add yours

  1. darcyish says:

    I’m right there with you! Every time I post I tell myself I’m going to be more consistent and then I start studying and fall into a black hole of zero time to do anything else!

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      Exactly! Its so hard to keep up with, but I also don’t want to feel like it’s a pressure to blog… there’s just not enough time in the world

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mmn! I love Moussaka but for some reason I’ve never made it myself. I think I’m going to have to now! 🙂
    I also agree with you. There’s not enough time to blog. I’m self employed so it’s easy to think I have a lot of time, but what with work and housework, blogging falls behind. I love your recipes though and to acknowledge that I nominated you for the mystery blogger award; https://straygourmet.wordpress.com/2017/04/07/mystery-blogger-award/ please feel free to accept or decline. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thalia says:

      You should try it, it does take a while but worth it! Sorry about this late reply,moronic really, but thank you so much that’s very lovely of you !! X

      Like

      1. It’s no problem 🙂 We all get busy 😉 . Actually I have since made Moussaka and oh my god it was delicious – so much better than restaurant versions! I followed your recipe but used quorn mince mixed with mushrooms, garlic, paprika onion, and tomato sauce, and layered it with aubergine and potatoes. Definitely going to try courgette next time. Thanks again for the inspiration! x

        Like

Leave a Reply

